top of page

The Diocese of Pennsylvania

The Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania


Welcome to our diocese. The Diocese of Pennsylvania is the second oldest diocese in the Episcopal Church. The first Bishop of PA, the Most Reverend William White, was also the first Presiding Bishop in the Episcopal Church as well as Chaplain to the Continental Congress. This historic diocese is comprised of 142 worshiping congregations located in the southeast portion of the state, throughout Philadelphia, Bucks, Montgomery, Delaware, & Chester counties.


Thirteen of its parishes ante-date the founding of the Diocese itself in 1784. Gloria Dei was established, first as an outpost of the Church of Sweden, in 1642, and Christ Church, Philadelphia, was founded as the first parish of the Church of England in 1695. 


The Diocesan office is open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

(Between July 4th and Labor Day, diocesan staff will be observing summer hours and close early at Noon on Fridays.)


Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania

23 E. Airy Street

Norristown, PA 19401

(215) 627-6434


bottom of page